Why are you here?

I’m reading the Pastoral Epistles right now. 1 Timothy, 2 Timothy, and Titus. This morning, I came across a passage in 1 Timothy that made me realize, again, why Jesus came here.

It wasn’t to affirm good behavior. No. It was to save sinners. Purely, simply, a rescue mission in enemy territory.

“…but I received mercy because I had acted ignorantly in unbelief, and the grace of our Lord overflowed for me with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus…” 1 Timothy 1:13-14

So, Jesus died for me as a sinner. I’m now supposed to share my hope and joy with others who Jesus died for as well. All other things are God’s gifts to me while I’m here. But my true purpose…the “why am I here?” question has been answered. What else do I have now to worry about?

Leave a Reply

